The Boy on the mountain

 

th.jpg

 

I met the boy on the mountain

There with his drum

Tapping out the rhythms of his soul.

 

Hello, said I

Having forgotten his name

And he looked up and he smiled.

 

Then he fixed me with his gaze

And pulled me into the source.

I know the secret, he said.

 

The secret? said I.

The secret to life, he said

And turned back to his drum

 

Will you tell me? I asked.

You already know, he said

You already know

 

But I’ve forgotten, I pleaded.

We all forget, he said

Then we remember all over again,

 

Again and again,

Again and again,

And again, each time new.

 

It’s funny that way

The forgetting and remembering,

But that’s the way He wants it.

 

RJC ’14

Leave a Reply

