Awakening from the darkness of mere being.

IMG_2675.JPG

 

I didn’t know that I was asleep

For it all looked so real, felt so real, smelled and tasted so real

I wrestled, made love, bashed my thumb again and again with what I thought was a very real and very hard hammer

Watching people walk, laugh, argue and play

It all seemed just like every other day

Then it happened, I walked through the door, woke up and everything changed

 

The bed I found myself in was not the bed I had fallen asleep in

And I couldn’t get back to the sleep

What was real was only a dream

What was dream was only a darkened corner of what was real

Consciousness after all wasn’t such a very big deal

What was once a sleeping dark became the light that bathed my world

No longer mere being– What now? What now?

Leave a Reply

